Upcoming Events

Get Connected!
mySMPS  Find us on Facebook Follow us on  Twitter LinkedIn  Instagram

2012 SMPS Marketing Awards

Recognizing and Honoring Excellence in Marketing and Communications

2012 SMPS Marketing Awards Gala

The 2012 SMPS Gala was held at the recently re-opened Garden Theatre, home of the Short North Stage, 1187 N. High Street.

Congratulations to all our Winners:

Alison Crumley
Ten Penny Design
Ten Penny Design Website

Suzanne Cody
m+a Architects
Bridging Perspectives

Gretchen Franklin
Karpinski Engineering
2011 Holiday Card

Dawn Wiford
Fanning Howey
Johnson County Public Library

Suzanne Cody
m+a Architects
m+a Architects

Ed Keener
Korda Engineering
Korda Trade Show Booth

Dawn Wiford
Fanning Howey
Johnson County Public Library

Alison Crumley
Ten Penny Design
Ten Penny Design Postcard Series

2012 Judges

Thanks to all our judges to gave their time and effort to select this year's winners



Holly Bolton, CPSM
Director of Marketing | CE Solutions
Chapter Delegate, National Board of Directors at Society for Marketing Professional Services

Holly is Director of Marketing at CE Solutions, a structural engineering firm in Carmel, Ind. Her 13 years of experience also include fulfilling several roles at a newspaper, marketing for an engineering firm in Kansas City and directing communications for an architecture and engineering firm in Indianapolis. Active in SMPS at the chapter, regional and national level, Holly is the 2011-2013 Chapter Delegate for the national board of directors. She has been a juror and an awards recipient of the national SMPS Marketing Communications Awards. Holly co-authored the SMPS Foundation White Paper, “The Client’s Use of Social Media and Social Networking” and has presented around the country on marketing and business development topics.  She has a bachelor of science in public relations and a creative writing minor from the University of Central Missouri. 


James Young, PE
Deputy Director, Division of Engineering | Ohio Department of Transportation

James graduated from the University of Cincinnati in 1994 majoring in Civil Engineering.  He worked for a private company for 7 years prior to ODOT.  He has been involved as a project engineer and project manager on various projects.  His past work experience includes roadway design, plan preparation, hydraulic design of open channel, culvert design and traffic engineering.   He also worked on Army Corp projects which includes pump and lift stations, floodwall and levees, and other site and roadway work related to large civil works in the Midwest.






John Seibert
Sr. Project Architect & Manager | Miami University - Planning, Architecture & Engineering Department

John is a departmental liaison to the Assistant Vice President for Physical Facilities. In this role, John is responsible for staff management, departmental budgeting, exterior campus planning, major construction project oversight, and upkeep of University planning and construction standards.  The PAE staff of sixteen currently oversees design and construction on five campuses consisting of 6,500 acres, 130 buildings, and a combined gross area of 7,580,000 square feet.   PAE currently has fifty-five active projects either to bid or under construction with a value of $177,150,000.00 and an additional forty projects in planning and / or design totaling over $500,000,000.00 in value.  Mr. Seibert holds a Bachelor Degree in Environmental Design with a Minor in Landscape Architecture and a Master Degree in Architecture from Miami University.


Bernie Costantino
University Architect | The Ohio State University

Bernie has 42 years professional experience, including 5 years as downtown development planner for the City of Columbus, Ohio and 19 years at NBBJ, an international design firm, where he was Principal and Studio Manager. As the University Architect at Ohio State, Mr. Costantino is responsible for the administration of all architectural direction on OSU campuses. He is responsible for architectural and planning design direction, makes final determinations in the construction dispute resolution process and plays a major role in the relationship with architects, engineers, construction managers and other professional services. He represents the University in matters related to architecture and the design and the construction process and is the liaison to the architectural design community and the Knowlton School of Architecture.



Walker Evans
Founder | Columbus Underground

Dr. Doug Ross
Marketing & Management Department Chair and MBA Program Chair | Franklin University

Doug brings extensive experience in the marketing field, from a corporate, academic, and consulting background. He is an internationally known speaker, making presentations on a variety of topics.  Dr. Ross has earned the distinction of being the only educator to receive the Columbus American Marketing Association (AMA) Marketing Professor of the Year honor a record four times (1999, 2005, 2008, 2010). He also won the AMA Achievement in Marketing Award for his innovative “Faces of Franklin” campaign. In addition, Dr. Ross is the only fulltime Franklin University professor to win the Robert L. Bailey Teaching Award at both the graduate and undergraduate levels, a distinction voted on by Franklin students each term to acknowledge the professor who was most influential in their programs.



Mitch Levitt, Associate AIA, ACHE, FSMPS
Senior Vice President | FKP Architects
Former SMPS Columbus Chapter and SMPS National President
2006 Weld Coxe Marketing Achievement Award Recipient

2012 Sponsors